Last year around August, my dear friend came to me and asked if I could cover a tattoo on her chest. Looking at it, I informed her it would grow in size to help cover it and take attention away. She didn’t want a huge flower on her chest because she felt it just wouldn’t be sexy. So we conjured up and idea of having a fusion of japanese and egyptian influences in the tattoo. Fast forward several months and she returns to have color injected into the design. I like the result… I think I’ll love it when it heals because the color will fade down a little and look older, more rustic. That’s the aim with this particular piece. I’ve figured out something about tattooing onto various skin tones, tattoo ink is transparent, like inks used for paper, so certain colors will appear differently on certain skin tones. I used to draw in books that were the color of brown paper bags and color my drawings using prismacolor markers. The results, I thought, were beautiful because the toned paper gave new characteristics to the colors. (I will post some stuff that I’ve done on toned paper in  another blog post to show what I’m talking about). This I’ve found true with skin. Most pompous tattoo artists are against putting color onto darker skin tones because the color won’t  “POP”, I get that, but learn to work with what you are given to create the most beautiful results possible.

This was colored with a 13 curved magnum and intenze, starbrite and eternal inks

