Angels  have a plethora of representative meanings to people. Some are religious, symbolic of death, paying homage to a loved one, representing children, and the list goes on. This falls into the category of representing a loved one. What I really like about this piece is the freedom the client gave me to design something for her. When she first approached me about getting this, all she said was “I would like you to design an African-American angel with wings, a fro, a halo, this name and these dates…” I actually got excited about this vague explanation because I instantly knew what she was looking for. I designed something, she looked at it, gave honest feedback (which is extremely valuable and I prefer it) and sent a picture she found to rework the idea I had given her. The I reworked the design to the picture she sent, she loved it and loves it even more now that it’s on her. I enjoyed working on this piece a lot and I relearned the value of fully planning out a piece on paper. Sometimes having a clear and easy-to-read map helps navigate pieces faster.

This was created with a 3 tight liner, 5 tight liner, 15 bugpin curved magnum and Eternal graywash inks and intenze zuper black.

