One thing you have to love about polytheistic views from the past, they had the greatest stories attached to the gods, deities and objects those ancient societies created. Major examples include the Egyptians, Greeks, Hawaiians, Indians, Aztec, Mayans, and the list goes on. Many people are most familiar with the gods of ancient Greece (Zues, Mount Olympus, Athena, Hera, Hercules, Minotaurs, Ares, etc.) and Egypt (Ra, Horus, Anubis, Seth, Osiris, Bastet, etc). This tattoo is about Anubis, the Egyptian guard dog of the dead. The client gave me free reign to design whatever I wanted to fit onto a space on his arm that was covering an ancient tattoo he had. When I shown him the original design, he loved it, asked why did I even show it… you know… I thought I’d be courteous and show what you’re about to get placed on to you. I’ve known this client for many years and so he respects the work I’m able to do. I always appreciate stuff like that.

This was created with a 7 textured liner, 15 bugpin curved magnum and intenze and eternal graywash inks.

