I dunno what’s gong on, but I have been kinda busy dong memorial tattoos… Not that I’m against them or anything even remotely close to that, I’m just curious as to why so many are popping up. I guess when tragedy strikes, we need a way to immortalize and remember that person. This tattoo does have a sad story behind it but because I didn’t ask for permission to blog it, I gotta respect the client and not put it out there. But I can tell you about the design process behind this one. I received the picture the client wanted via text. I have to admit that I’m very impressed with the technology of today because a few years ago doing it this way wasn’t possible. Nonetheless, I sent the picture to myself, photoshopped it a bit so it suits my needs then drew it out. I have developed an affinity for filigree (the swirly/ leafy looking things on either side of the portrait) because it adds an element to the overall design that makes it really come together. I texted the drawing to the client, he apporved, came to the shop and away we went.  There is an interesting point that I get to with anything I create where I begin to hate it. It’s absolutely bizarre because I have to work through this weird hatred and when I get through it, I love the piece. Oddly enough, that let’s me know the piece will turn out great. Stupid, bizarre, unusual, frustrating and all those other adjectives to describe how I’m feeling, but it works.

This was created with a 3 tight liner, 7 textured liner, 15 bugpin curved magnum and eternal graywash and intenze zuper black ink.

Side note: In future blogs Imma start explaining which gage needle I’m using because I’ve learned that some folks aren’t aware of the different metal gages and their effects. Maybe I geek out too much over this tattoo stuff, but I find it fascinating.

