The word Angel is normally associated with Catholicism or Christianity, not polytheistic views of native peoples all over the world, so when the client asked for a native american angel (to best describe his idea) on his forearm, I definitely scratched my head on that one. He has an ornate cross on one side of his forearm, then to slot this on the other side… and have it make sense was the challenge set before me. He wanted it to show his love and respect for his beloved grandmother, who is still alive. I pulled up several references on my ipad and started drawing on him. I approached it with the traditional image of an angel we are all familiar with, then I added in some Sacagawea and Pocahontas with hints of several other Native American tribes, and voila! One idea that lept into my brain as I was working on this was to make the wings based off of hawk feathers. I felt it more appropriate than just plain ole dove-like wings. I had to figure a way to approach the patterning on the wings so I turned my shader to the side and voila!!!! Hawk feather patterning. Overall I ended up having a lot of fun with this piece. The photos don’t do it justice, but you get the point. OH!!!! Before I forget, the client is a really cool dude, but he endured some pain to get this. He doesn’t have the highest pain tolerance so there were some banshee screams happening during the process which had me laughing pretty hard… ok I’m done.

This was created with a 7 textured liner, #10 15 bugpin curved magum (all those soft black and gray tones), 14 round shader (for the whites and green hits) and intenze, eternal and starbrite inks.

