We all constantly go through it… the heart wants to do one thing (the emotional thing), while the brain is on some other shit (the rational thing). It’s a 50/50 win percentage with the two. I swear. I know there are things my hearts says is right, just do it, I’m right… low and behold, I shouldn’t have done it. My brain is like “HA! I told you so stupid!!!!” Oh the everlasting internal struggle that makes us feel like we are nuts. The idea for this design is birthed from the client in that he wanted the anatomical heart on the outside of his arm (the whole thing of  “I wear my heart on my sleeve…” is from a Shakespeare play as the brilliant client informed me) and the brain on the inner bicep to represent knowledge is power. And the two combined make a fight… go figure. I had to study several diagrams and other photos of hearts for this one. I’ve tattooed a heart before, but this one pushed me a lil harder. The brain was a new thing for me though… I had to make sure I included all the crevices and creases along with the cerebellum and brain stem. In case you don’t know by now, I study hard and do custom work for just about everyone that I touch. It makes for a great business relationship with the client and wonderful conversations to be had.

This was created with a 3 tight liner, 9 tight round liner, #10 15 bugpin curved magnum, 18 round shader and eternal graywash inks

